Sport in South Australia


Did you know that....

The first horse races were held on 1 and 2 January 1838, attended by 1200 people.
John Morphett acting as Steward.
The Morphettville Racing Club formed in 1847

Special Wrestling Matches were held at the Brecknock Arms Hotel in King William Street on 14 July 1851. William Hodge and James Chipman competed for the sum of fifty Pounds.

The Adelaide Cricket Club was formed in 1853 with J.H. Fisher as President and John Morphett as Vice-President.

The South Australian Jockey Club was formed in 1857 with John Morphett as Steward or Director until 1881. It was incorporated as a company on 30 May 1874 with offices at 34 Currie Street, Adelaide.

The first croquet club in Australia was formed in the copper mining town of Kapunda in 1867.

Ken Farmer kicked 1419 goals between 1929-1941 as a South Australian league footballer.

First Magarey medal awarded in 1898 to Norwood player Alby Green.

In May 1870 a few gentlemen in Adelaide formed the idea of introducing the ancient Scotch game of golf and took steps for obtaining the necessary materials from St Andrew's in Scotland. They played their first game on 15 May on the Adelaide Racecource.

The Yorke's Peninsula Cricketing Association was formed on 31 Juanuary 1874.

Jerome Murif was the first to cross Australia from South to North on a bicycle. He left Glenelg on 10 March 1897 and arrived in Darwin on 21 may 1897.

Believe it or not, it is true.


If you would like to find out more,
please go to HOME PAGE for more information.
Thank you for visiting Flinders Ranges Research,
We hope you enjoy your stay and find the information useful.
This site has been designed and is maintained by FRR.